top of page

March 21 is World Down Syndrome Day!

March 21 is World Down Syndrome Day!

I remember the moment when the doctor handed Jim and I the small slip of white paper with David's genetic testing. We were in a very tiny room with just a bench for seating. No comfy chairs, no padding, just a plank wide enough to hold two people. No window, no pretty art work. Just four sterile white walls broken in design only by the door, also very white. He handed us the paper saying, "it's confirmed, Trisonomy 21 (Down syndrome, when ...the 21st chromosome splits three times), feel free to take a moment and I will see you outside when your are ready".

I remember wanting to ask for bottle of white out. I wanted to open the white creamy liquid, take that small slip of paper, run my finger down the genetic profile to the three black lines at the 21st chromosome and gently blot away the third line. Simply erase one, make three become the two that they were supposed to be. I will never forget that white room, never forget those three black lines where there should have been two. But what's most important is what happened next. Holding onto the paper, Jim and I hugged, and then together wept. When the tears slowed, we looked each other, and without hesitation made a mutual pact that we were going to bring home our son and love him with everything we had in us.

Now, almost two decades later, I was recently reminded that life, like it has so many times throughout the years, came full circle. Earlier this month, it was David, Jim and I again at a hospital. But this time, the room was colorfully painted. The sun shining in the windows. The walls covered with art. I was now the patient, recovering from surgery, with Jim there visiting me. This time, it wasn't a doctor delivering us news. It was David himself, visiting as part of his internship distributing magazines to patients. And this time, there was only happiness at seeing David and his beautiful smile. Along with pride for all that he has accomplished. But most of all, there was the joy of our son, complete with his extra chromosome, that has brought so much LOVE and meaning to our lives and those who know him.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
bottom of page