top of page

Thank you Gus!


My son David, who was born with down syndrome, often carries an action figure (or two, well okay, sometimes more) with him to school and other events. For him it's a comfort thing. As someone who has limited verbal skills, his action figures are also a clever resource he uses to start a conversation.

I love that Gus from Wisconsin completely gets it. The response that he shared in the "I Care Because . . ." feature on our website is perfection.

At my school, there is not much bullying happening. People care about each other, and if they don't like someone, they just don't talk to them. For instance, there this kid named Jack. He has autism, but when he walks around, people say his name, give him high fives, and listen to what he has to say. Other kids in my school that are different may bring in action figure or stuffed animals. Instead of people saying that that is weird and they should stop bringing them, they say something like, "Spider man, my favorite. cool action figure." I care because I want more schools to be like this one.

Gus, 15, Wisconsin

Gus, you are inspiring! You have my support—there should be more schools like yours, plus I hope that there are more students like you as well!

From a grateful mom, Julie

PS: Shout out the amazing women in the above photo; Tess, Abbie, (David) Shelby and Kendra who just happen to also be from Wisconsin - and big fans of David - and of course his dinosaurs and action figures.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
bottom of page