top of page

I Continue to Hold Hope


Students from around the world send us their insightful, compelling and often heartbreaking stories. The wisdom of what is shared is often incredibly profound. I think this story speaks for itself, as the words so eloquently, in just a few sentences, capture the emotional impact of being bullied simply for being who you are.

I was bullied by nearly everyone in my middle school and it had lasting effects on me. Because I was diagnosed autistic, it was easy for others to blame it on me for not knowing how to "fit in." I was bullied simply for being different, and it is never reasonable to tell a child to change their personality so that others will leave them alone. I continue to hold hope that new generations of kids like me will not have to grow up thinking that there is something "wrong" with them, and have to give up their uniqueness to protect themselves from judgment.” Anonymous, Age 26

I share this author's hope, that anyone reading this is inspired to see those with disabilities (or any differences) through the celebratory lens of what is unique in each of us. Special thanks to the young author of this story for the beauty and elegance of their words, to you I'm grateful.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
bottom of page